What does Nordic mean?


What does Nordic mean?

Nordic usually means the five states Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, plus the three autonomous territories connected to these states: the Faroe Islands and Greenland (Denmark) and Åland (Finland). It is not surprising that there are similarities between the Nordic states given the closely entangled histories of the Nordic countries and, in particular:

  • Nordic language and culture.

  • Nordic co-operation.

  • The Nordic model.

  • History of the Nordic region.

See more here for a short article on The Nordic Region.

Scandinavia vs the Nordics

Although the term Scandinavia is often used to refer to the whole region, Nordic is becoming increasingly common and this is the usage also adopted on nordics.info. The terms Scandinavia and Scandinavian are often used as synonyms for Norden and Nordic, but some consider that Scandinavia refers just to Denmark, Norway and Sweden (or even just to the Norwegian-Swedish peninsula), and does not include Finland or Iceland.

Nordic concept is not fixed – what is it to you?

Defining definitively what the Nordics means is difficult. To some, the Nordic region is empirically grounded in joint politics and history. To others, the term may invoke a particular genre of literature or art, and encompass work done outside the Nordic region. To yet others, it is merely a branding exercise which tries to unite countries which are in fact quite different. And so on.

Is it 'The Next Supermodel' as proclaimed by The Economist in 2013? Is the French President Macron really influenced by the Nordic model of liberalism? Are the Nordic countries ‘havens of gender equality’ as the United Nations have suggested?

Decide for yourself after reading nordics.info.